You must log in
Log in/Register
Back to navigation

Dalberto Michel, Granados, Goyescas

Sequence published on 12/2/21
Composer : Enrique Granados
Year of composition : 1909
Artistic period : 20th century
Musical category : Suite
Academy : Academy Oct 25 - Nov 1, 2020
Master(s) : Michel Dalberto
Student : Tingan  Kuo
Instrument(s) played :

"Be extremely careful when you read and study the music. Make note when a composer writes poco or motto." Michel Dalberto

About the Piano class of Enrique Granados's work on the Goyescas

Master class de Piano, Enrique Granados | Goyescas

"In this short class, Michel Dalberto listens to the student play a piece by the Spanish composer Enrique Granados, which is part of the “Goyescas” suite, composed during the first decade of the 20th century.
The master indicates that the intention of Enrique Granados with this suite is to describe “the atmosphere and the characters of several paintings by Francisco Goya, but the pieces themselves are not specifically depicting any one painting."" In this sense, he adds that “in any music, it's important to be very precise and careful, and understand that if you respect what the composer wrote, you are going to understand much better the music he wants to express.""

Later, when working on the score, the master indicates that some phrases can be exaggerated, with declamation, and highlights the importance of some accents to achieve this.

What we learn in this Piano Master class

-Granados was a composer and also a pianist
-The interpreter must be very careful when reading the musc, and the indications of the composer
-Some phrases must be play wirh exaggeration

About Enrique Granados work

"Enrique Granados was born in Barcelona and became known as an improvising pianist, chamber musician, and composer. He brushed shoulders with Gabriel Fauré, Camille Saint-Saëns, and Pablo Casals, and was hailed abroad as an emblematic musician of Spain. Goyescas—a set of six pieces—is his most famous work. He started writing in 1909, and premiered it in 1911, all inspired by the paintings of Francisco Goya (1746–1828). Though specific correspondences to paintings aren’t known, the art in question belongs to a series of tapestry “cartoons.” Goya may be known best for his unnerving depictions of war, destitution, and depravity, but these paintings are entirely different. They’re sunny pictures of leisure activities enjoyed by majos and majas, flamboyantly dressed members of Spain’s lower class. "
Cultivate your talent
Access music in a single click and develop your career with tips from the greatest international masters.
Monthly subscription
per month
€39.90 every month
6-month subscription
per month
€209.40 every 6 months
12-month subscription
per month
€358.80 every 12 months
One video
5 credits
or €3.80 per credit
Pack of 25 credits
25 credits
or €3.56 per credit
Pack of 50 credits
50 credits
or €3.38 per credit