You must log in
Log in/Register
Back to navigation

Dalberto Michel, Mozart, Sonata No.9

Sequence published on 12/2/21
Composer : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Year of composition : 1777
Artistic period : Classique
Musical category : Sonata
Academy : Academy Oct 25 - Nov 1, 2020
Master(s) : Michel Dalberto
Student : Kennosuke Izuka
Instrument(s) played :

"There should be moments when, all of a sudden, there is a little crescendo, and then you play with more intensity." Michel Dalberto

About the Piano class of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's work on the Sonata_No.9 K.311

Master class de Piano, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Sonate_No.9

"Michel Dalberto listens to a young student play this Sonata by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Number 9, in D major. He then explains that this piece has three movements, and that it was written at the very end of 1777, during a trip Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart made to Mannheim.
The master begins by talking about some silences and some breaths that were sometimes too long, noticing how that threatens the connection between the sentences. Regarding the phrasing, Michel Dalberto says that “in the sentence, there should be moments when, all of a sudden, there is a little crescendo, and then you play with more intensity."" Dalberto then works together with the student, finding different ways of interpreting this kind of thing correctly. Using this as a guide, he highlights the importance of following harmony."

After listening to the student play the second movement, Michel Dalberto warns about the tempo, which he says should not be too slow since that makes it impossible to tell the story.

What we learn in this Piano Master class

-Importance of not doing breaths too long
-Structure of the sentences

About the work of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed his D Major Sonata, K. 311 in 1777 when he was twenty years old. He seemed to have hit his stride as a composer of keyboard sona tas, one assimilating into this piece artistically fulfilling juxtapositions of brilliant virtuosity and subdued lyricism, humor and heartfelt expression. The first movement begins in a spirited manner, then gives way to a lyrical second theme. As the movement draws to a close in pure joy, the contrast of the pleasant and soothing second movement is all the more striking — Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s niche as an opera composer proves evident by the beautiful singing melodic line. The third movement rounds out the sonata, providing yet another contrast in mood; a humorous character is implied by sudden changes in dynamics, stops and starts, and musical surprises. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart incorporates aspects of symphonic composition with a concertolike lead in before the return of the theme.
Cultivate your talent
Access music in a single click and develop your career with tips from the greatest international masters.
Monthly subscription
per month
€39.90 every month
6-month subscription
per month
€209.40 every 6 months
12-month subscription
per month
€358.80 every 12 months
One video
5 credits
or €3.80 per credit
Pack of 25 credits
25 credits
or €3.56 per credit
Pack of 50 credits
50 credits
or €3.38 per credit