You must log in
Log in/Register
Back to navigation

Marc Coppey, Brahms, Sonata No.2

Sequence published on 12/2/21
Composer : Johannes Brahms
Year of composition : 1886
Artistic period : 19th century
Academy : Academy Nov. 1 - Nov. 8, 2021
Master(s) : Marc Coppey
Student : Matteo Fabi
Instrument(s) played :

"You almost don't take a beat, and I hear almost directly this energy, I miss the director. Almost like if we're conducting it and you're honest to feel that." Marc Coppey

About the Violoncelle class of Johannes Brahms' work on the Sonata_No.2 op.99

Master class de Violoncelle, Johannes Brahms | Sonate_No.2

"Marc Coppey listens to the student play Sonata No. 2 by Johann Brahms for cello and piano, and says it's one of the most glorious works for the cello. Coppey notes that “the F major often relates to the nature of the horn and that kind of instrument, and I think that's also something we need to consider in the character of this music.""
Regarding the character of this sonata, the master says that ""the energy of this music is, or is almost, youthful. It's like a call, a happy call, full of life, full of energy,"" but also warns that when moving quickly from a major to a minor key, there is a certain ambiguity that must be expressed."

During the class, the master works in detail on the relationship between the cello and the piano, differentiating, several times, between what happens with the right hand and with the left hand. He also goes over different bowings, focusing on the relationship between harmony and the different functions performed by the cello, sometimes playing the melody, sometimes acting as a bass.

What we learn in this Violoncelle Master class

-There is ambiguity in this piece.
-The intervals have to be felt, and they are all different. Some are ascending, some are descending. Some are darker, some are more energetic.
-It sounds like a like a symphonic work.
-Importance of breathing.
-Importance of feeling the beat.
-If Johann Brahms repeats, there must be a reason.

About the work of Johannes Brahms

"If the First Sonata shows Johann Brahms the young man presenting his credentials as a scholar and a mature gentleman, the Cello Sonata No 2 in F major Op 99 is the work of an older man composing music with all the passion and sweep of youth. Written during a productive summer in Switzerland in 1886, the F major Sonata was composed for Robert Hausmann, who was renowned for his large and virile tone. The rich style, however, is late Johann Brahms. If this movement did originate in earlier work, he must have done some extensive revision before incorporating it. The Allegro Passionato is a wonderfully powerful and dark scherzo, so much so that a friend of Johann Brahms’s wrote to him (rather irreverently) that she could detect him ‘humming and snorting continually’ – a pleasant image. The last movement, like that of the Second Piano Concerto, is almost startling in its lightness of touch, unexpected within this massive framework. "
Cultivate your talent
Access music in a single click and develop your career with tips from the greatest international masters.
Monthly subscription
per month
€39.90 every month
6-month subscription
per month
€209.40 every 6 months
12-month subscription
per month
€358.80 every 12 months
One video
5 credits
or €3.80 per credit
Pack of 25 credits
25 credits
or €3.56 per credit
Pack of 50 credits
50 credits
or €3.38 per credit