You must log in
Log in/Register
Back to navigation

Dalberto Michel, Mozart, Sonata No.18 in D major

Sequence published on 12/2/21
Composer : Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Year of composition : 1789
Artistic period : Classique
Musical category : Sonata
Academy : Academy Oct 25 - Nov 1, 2020
Master(s) : Michel Dalberto
Student : Tingan  Kuo
Instrument(s) played :

"always try to find different colors, don't play all the same way." Michel Dalberto

About the Piano class of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's work on the Sonata_No.18_in_D_major K.576

Master class de Piano, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart | Sonate_No.18_en_Ré_majeur

"The 17-year-old student plays this Sonata, which Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composed in 1789, two years before his death. Michel Dalberto says that he is very interested in how the student plays, saying “your articulation, the position of your hand, and the way you move your fingers is just the opposite from my technique."" Beyond some issues related to the positioning of the arm, the master warns the student that, at least in this concert, she has played everything with the same sound and the same color, the entire time. “Depending on the music you play, of course, but if you could keep this kind of technique in some passages, and have a technique with more weight coming from the shoulder that you can feel and go deeper, being closer to the keyboard, I think that would be fantastic because you would have a sort of double technique.""
Moving forward, the class is based mainly on this search for different colors, and styles for the different parts of this concert. They work on the weight of the arm, the use of the pedal, the tempo changes, the legato, etc.

What we learn in this Piano Master class

-It is necessary to have the possibility of playing with different colors and sounds
-Importance of the contrast
-Adagio doesn't mean slow
-Importance of feeling the tempo, and of changing it

About Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart work

"Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s last sonata of all, the Sonata in D major, K. 576, dated July 1789, originated on a trip to Berlin and Potsdam that Mozart made to boost his flagging fortunes (vainly, as it turned out) in the spring of that year. The Prussian King, Friedrich Wilhelm II, apparently commissioned the composer to write a set of six ‘light’ or ‘easy’ sonatas for his daughter, Princess Friederike. However, he only completed this one sonata, and in a style anything but ‘easy.' Like the near-contemporary String Quintet in D major, K. 593, K. 576 is an effortless amalgam of the ‘learned’ and ‘popular,' marrying an apparently light, convivial tone with dazzling contrapuntal craft. The opening theme, in rollicking ‘hunting’ style lends itself naturally to canonic elaboration, a hint Wolgang Amadeus Mozart takes up almost at once and pursues further when the same theme initiates the second subject group. There is a suavely lyrical contrasting theme, marked dolce, and the exposition concludes with a little cadential figure derived from the opening bars. The development works the main theme in wiry canonic textures, and then glides back to the recapitulation in a breathtaking chromatic passage based on the exposition’s final cadence. "
Cultivate your talent
Access music in a single click and develop your career with tips from the greatest international masters.
Monthly subscription
per month
€39.90 every month
6-month subscription
per month
€209.40 every 6 months
12-month subscription
per month
€358.80 every 12 months
One video
5 credits
or €3.80 per credit
Pack of 25 credits
25 credits
or €3.56 per credit
Pack of 50 credits
50 credits
or €3.38 per credit